“Grand Central Station, how can I help you?”

12 Apr

 

Yep, that’s where it seems like I work.  I don’t really work at Grand Central Station, but it’s really seemed like Grand Central Station as of late.  Answering phones, tracking orders, processing orders, procuring product and shipping quotes, receiving returns, sorting and delivering the mail, greeting customers and visitors, and replying to email inquiries. . . . you get the point.  

 

Actually, pretty much ever since I started working here, I’ve done those tasks on a day-to-day basis, but the past few weeks I’ve been helping my boss update our website, and I’ve been able to do some .  .  .  .  .  .  .  (ok, a lot of) .  .  .  .  .  programming.  I officially feel like a computer nerd :p  Who wouldda thunk I would ever do website programming?  Or international sales?  Yep, I do both.  Never wouldda thought that myself, but I really enjoy both, even when it’s CrAZy busy like it has been lately.

 

My job is pretty darn cool because I get to wear a lot of hats; not the kind of hat the you wear to accessorize an outfit, but the kind of “hat” whereby each “hat” represents one of my job responsibilities.  The company relies on me for a lot of things, which is waaayyy cool 😉

 

On the side when I’m not at work, I teach religious education.  I’ve also been on the front-lines for integrating a program (American Heritage Girls) at the local Catholic Church for young girls whereby they can learn different skills such as gardening, archery, sewing, inter-personal skills (i.e. conversation, etiquette, manners, etc.), and offer service work to people of all ages.  It’s gonna be sweet once the program is officially in place.

 

Whew!  I feel out of breath just thinking about all these extra-curricular activities in my schedule.

 

Watch out now .  .  .  .  .  .  . One of these days I might just answer my phone with the greeting “Grand Central Station, how can I help you?”

 

 

You might initially think you got the wrong number, but don’t hang up 🙂  Stay on the line.  I will be glad to help you!

 

 

One Response to ““Grand Central Station, how can I help you?””

  1. Kathleen April 12, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Rachel, While you are at Grand Central Station, Can you book me passage to Rome, Assisi, Florence, CinqueTerra,,,,,Padua and beyond….Thanks Miss Conductor!!!
    You can Join me!!!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

