~ Quote for the day by St. Rose of Lima ~

15 Feb

This morning I found this quote by St. Rose of Lima and immediately decided to share it because St. Rose of Lima is my patron saint for Confirmation.  It just so happens that St. Rose’s feast day also falls on my birthday.  I feel like I have a special connection with her since we share the same day and the same name (Rose is one of my middle names.)  However, I often forget to pray to her.  Oops.  I think she understands.

Anyhoo, here is the quote:

“The gift of grace increases as the struggle increases.” -St. Rose of Lima

Lately it’s really been on my heart to do missionary work.  Our culture is so lacking in virtues, morals and ethics.  Everything is becoming relative and subjective.  In general, men, women, kids, young adults and senior citizens lack knowledge of God and the desire to live a Godly life.  I want other people to know God.  I want to instruct others in virtuous living and I want to help hearts find God.  I want to be “the pencil in His hand” as Mother Teresa once said of her work as a Missionary of Charity.

Believe me, I know that I have a llloooonnng way to go in regard to becoming more virtuous.  I am not perfect by any means.  My family can testify.  I do know, however, that “God does not call the qualified.  He qualifies the called.”

This summer I have an opportunity to do missionary work here in the U.S.  I. AM. ECSTATIC!  Could you do me a special favor?  Could you please pray that everything will fall into place for me to take off a week from work to do this missionary trip?  I would be so grateful if you would pray that this trip works out, and even more excited if I can go.  Thank you in advance for your prayers – they mean so much to me!

Another thing that’s been on my heart is my vocation.  I’ve really been unsure of what vocation path to which God is calling me.  I have been on multiple retreats, I’ve been on dates, I have studied abroad, I have traveled around the U.S. and into Canada, and I’ve spoken to a couple priests for advice.  And you know what I found out?  The priests told me I have to pray more.  Who wouldda thunk?  Just pray more.  Sounds simple, right?   When they told me to pray more, my silent, inner response was more prayer?  More?  Prayer?!”

Haha, I know.  Me who wants to do missionary work was flabbergasted when I was told I need to pray more.  That’s why I need your prayers too 😉  I need to put my discernment in God’s hands through prayer and good works and let Him take care of the rest.  After all, He is God.

For the time being, I will continue to enjoy my full time job, teach religious education on the side, and increase my prayer life.  Hopefully along the way, God will put the desire on my heart for the vocation He is calling me toward.  During this season of Lent we are encouraged to “Prayer, Penance, and Good Works.”  Pray for me and I will pray for you.

PS.  Do you have a saint who you have a special devotion to?  Who are they?  Would you mind sharing the saint and why you like them?  Do you have a quote by a saint you would like to share?  Please do:)  Have you ever been on a mission trip and if so, where to?  I would enjoy hearing from you.

2 Responses to “~ Quote for the day by St. Rose of Lima ~”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saint Rose of Lima | Keeping-It-Real - August 19, 2015

    […] the details of her life.  My blog has been coming up in a lot of searches for Saint Rose since I posted a quote from her a while ago, so I decided to write about her in order to share with my readers and […]

  2. 2015 in review | Keeping-It-Real - January 17, 2016

    […] blog.  Her name is in the stats of blog searches on my blog nearly every day – particularly this post, and this post (which includes a synopsis of who she is), and this post which has a prayer to […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

