Shall We Dance?

12 Feb

One of the very first times a man asked me to dance was when I was about 5 or 6 years old.  It was at the wedding reception of one of my uncles, during which one of my bachelor uncles asked me to dance.  I flatly refused.  Dancing was not my thing, and I was not going to dance.  I vividly remember a bunch of my uncles (my dad has 8 brothers!) gathering around me and laughing at “little Rachel not wanting to dance.”  I was lucky enough not to get whisked off the edge of the dance floor and into the fray of dancing couples.

Fast forward about 5-6 years.  For a while when I was 10-12 years old, when my grandparents came over to visit from Indiana, my grandpa would ask me to dance.  He would say with a grin and a twinkle in his eye (probably because I blush very easily) “Would you like to be my dancing partner?”  Oh how I really really disliked that question!!!!  I didn’t know how to dance, I was very shy, and if we were going to have an audience, you could just forget the whole thing.

Fast forward about four years.  My oldest brother got married.  During his college career he had learned some swing dancing and taught me and some of our other siblings some of the dance moves he had learned.  

It was at this time that I realized that 1) I can dance if I put my mind to it, 2) dancing in front of an “audience” is not so bad afterall, and 3) I actually do have some rhythm.  In my mind I was thinking “Hey, this dancing thing isn’t so bad after all!” 

At my brother’s wedding reception I remember the song “Dancing Queen” being played and dancing out on the dance floor with some of my sisters and some of our girl cousins.  I felt like a dancing queen because I was seventeen years old like the song says.

During college I learned more swing dancing and waltz.  My brother, who was a grade above me in college, took some ballroom dance classes at his college and then came home and taught us siblings what he had learned.  These beautiful, sweeping, graceful, energetic dance moves were becoming more and more interesting to me.

By this point, I was determined to learn how to ballroom dance.  That was a big step from my younger years when I was absolutely repulsed by the idea of dancing.

When I graduated college, I moved out of my hometown and to a bigger city where I found my first job.  It was here in this city where I went to a ballroom dance studio and learned cha cha, rumba, tango, Viennese Waltz, meringue, salsa, fox trot and more swing!  

You may have already guessed that by now dancing is one of my favorite past-times.  Whenever I have the chance to dance, you will either see my feet tapping and hands clapping, or my head poised, feet positioned and ready to sweep across the dance floor with the grace of a pro.  (far from the famous “Dancing with the Stars” and far more modest 🙂

Now, if you’re lucky enough, you may sometime just catch me dancing unawares, in my kitchen with a towel over my shoulder, the radio blaring, and me oblivious to the audience.

2 Responses to “Shall We Dance?”

  1. Kathleen February 12, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    Cute Rachel!

    Dad

    _____

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Night out with FUN | Keeping-It-Real - January 29, 2014

    […] case I haven’t told you this, I LOVE dancing.  You know how exercising can give the body endorphins?  Well, dancing has the same effect, so […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

