Embarrassing Moment #2574

21 Jan

My job requires frequent over-the-phone conversations with our customers.  Monday mornings are usually really busy.  This morning was no exception.  My inbox was full, there were dozens of orders waiting to be processed, my attention switched back and forth between the computer, the ever-ringing phone, and a co-worker to whom I was busy explaining order procedure for an order that was not standard.

At one point the phone rang and I quickly answered with my cheery-as-can-be-without-coffee-voice.  

The guy on the other end of the phone explained a problem that he was having with his machine.  Not being a technician myself, and our technicians being unable to take the call at that moment, I quickly replied, “Sure, can I get your number and have one of our ticks give you a call back?”  I had to stifle myself from laughing out loud once I realized what I had just said,

Sure, can I get your number and have one of our ticks give you a call back?”  

What I had meant to say was that I would have one of our techs give him a call back!  Oh boy.

Thank goodness the guy on the other end of the phone did not catch my mistake (or else he was secretly laughing to himself like I was to myself!)

After that I was able to successfully get his phone number and assure him that “John” would give him a call back shortly.

Whew, recovery, check!

Note to self: think more carefully about what I say before I say it, and ..

Note to the reader: we do not have “ticks” who take phone calls ;D

One Response to “Embarrassing Moment #2574”

  1. Jules January 30, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    Hahha so funny!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

