To faint or not to faint….that is the question!

19 Dec

Did you know that fainting runs in my family?  Well, . . . now you know 😉   Here’s the story of the most recent fainting (almost) incident:

Once upon a time I took a phone call from the American Red Cross and the friendly lady on the other line asked if I would be interested in donating blood.  I had never given blood before so I told her “sure.”  (insert laugh here.)

Fast forward to ummmmm……yesterday.  Yes, yesterday.

I arrived for my appointment and the nurse took my temperature and my blood pressure.  We had a nice conversation while she was prepping everything – I was trying to busy my mind from the immanent approach of the needle.  (Quite frankly, I think it’s all the “hype” about being scared of needles that was playing tricks on my mind 😦  )

We talked, laughed, discussed Christmas plans.  Life was good.

The nurse and I continued talking and once everything was ready, the nurse told me, “You don’t have to watch if you don’t want to.”  I said, “okay.”

My heart started racing.  I put my cold fingers on my neck to help myself cool down.  My head hurt.

The nurse put the needle in my arm.

“Whew, that wasn’t so bad!” I told myself.  “This is great!  I’m not gonna faint.  I’m gonna be just fine!”  I told myself.

. . . . . . Then I started blacking out.  It was bad.  I felt terrible.  I was TERRIFIED by the thought of fainting – BEING UNCONSCIOUS, unaware of my surroundings, completely helpless (even though there were multiple nurses in the room.)  I asked for something to drink.  Right away the nurses snapped to attention and hurried to prevent my pale face from hitting the floor with a smack.

Everything turned hazy and gray (or rather, my eyes were losing focus).  Either way, I was wondering whether or not I ever wanted to donate blood again.

The male nurse brought over a huge fan and placed it so that the air would blow directly on my face.  One of the female nurses brought me apple juice.  I sat there telling myself, “Seriously.do.not.faint.”

Welp, I didn’t faint afterall.  WHEW!  *Sigh of relief*  I helped save three lives by donating blood!!

I’m thankful for the opportunity to help save lives and for the nurses who helped prevent me from fainting 🙂

3 Responses to “To faint or not to faint….that is the question!”

  1. dprzybyla1976 November 7, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    Way to give blood, Rachel! Have you donated blood since then? Just tell the staff to stay close and keep the apple juice coming:)

    • Rfog November 7, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by! I have given blood since then, and it’s been much better than the above-mentioned experience:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Truth Vs. Deceit « r-fog-blog - February 5, 2013

    […] up the courage to try skiing for the first time, or perhaps you were afraid to give a speech.  Maybe you were going to donate blood to the American Red Cross like I did for the first time last ye….  Or maybe you were trying to work up the courage to introduce yourself to someone who you really […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

