Can you imagine what life would be like if you never cry?!?!?!?

17 Oct
Have you ever wondered why you cry and have tears flow from your eyes?  If you’re like me, you don’t like to cry in front of other people, let alone cry by yourself.  Ironically, I’m a sensitive person, so I cry more than your “average Joe” or in this case, your “average young woman.” I cry at weddings or when I hear a touching story, or when I watch a movie that is moving.  Sometimes I laugh so hard that I start to cry.  Other times, like when I received a surprise birthday party, I was so stunned by the surprise that I shed a few tears.  Additionally, when someone else gets teary-eyed, I get teary-eyed too.

                                                                                                                                                                                       
Crying makes me uncomfortable, especially if I can’t control the stream of tears, or if the tears are accompanied by uncontrollable sniffles and gasps for air between the downpour of saltwater unleashed from my eyes.  While tears via crying are inevitable at points in our life, and while tears and crying may cause us embarrassment, there is something that is very touching about tears.  Tears aid our emotions, and, believe it or not, help us express ourselves.  
                                                                                                                                                                                       
Tears are a sign of our vulnerability. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Vulnerability is not about being weak, but is really about sincerity and genuineness.  Vulnerability is about being honest with ourselves and with others.  It’s about letting other people know that, yes, while we are strong in character, we do have moments that can be best expressed through tears.  Tears, I believe, are what mark us as being strong – strong enough to admit that it’s okay to cry, and through crying, we open up ourselves to other people.   (Guys, it’s okay to cry too. 🙂
                                                                                                                                                                                                     
Can you imagine what life would be like if you never cry?!?!?!?
                                                                                                                                   
One of my classmates in college titled her senior thesis,”Only the vulnerable love” and this title has stuck a chord with me on so many occasions.  How often have I acted like I was fine when I really needed to just admit that I needed support, or a shoulder to cry on, or someone who could just sit and listen, or someone who I could have a good laugh with?  We can love best when we are honest with ourselves and others.  Part of love is being vulnerable, and in this case, showing our emotions through tears.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Tears can help us express ourselves when no words can be found.  Yes!  It is okay to cry, especially because tears help us to express some of our deepest emotions and aid in becoming more vulnerable and ultimately more loving.
                             
 
Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

