WeEknD SurPrIsEs

10 Oct

If you know me, you know that I love surprises.  By surprises I’m talkin’ a letter via snail mail, a call from a friend with whom I haven’t chatted recently, a random act of kindness, someone leaving me a note wishing me a good day, receiving a bright bouquet of flowers, an unexpected visit from family or friends at work,  . . . the list goes on!  (I really don’t like the types of surprises that involves scaring me, jumping on me while I’m napping, or unwelcome visits by bugs, spiders, etc. . . . . )

This weekend I received a fabulous surprise – the type of surprise that I love.

One of my younger sisters was home from grad school for the weekend, so I went to our parent’s house to visit with my sister and the rest of the family.  It was a special visit since my sister lives several hours away and doesn’t have many opportunities to visit home.

As we all congregated in the foyer at my parent’s house and exchanged excited “hellos”, something in the mirror caught my eye.

I saw the top of the head of a little blonde-haired girl walking through the hallway towards the foyer.  Before I knew it, here appeared my adorable six-year-old niece!  OH.MY.GOODNESS!!!!!!!!!  What a WoNdErFuL surprise!  None of us knew that our sister was bringing our oldest niece to visit for the weekend.  Needless to say, we were ECSTATIC!

My niece was just as excited to see everyone as we were to see her!  It was a special treat for her to get to come visit for the whole weekend with her aunts, uncles & grandparents.  (My sister, who goes to school near where our older brother and his family live, brought their oldest daughter with her for the weekend:))

Some highlights from hanging out with my niece over the weekend were: dancing, telling stories, painting nails, going to Sunday Mass, coming back to my parent’s house for a big Sunday morning breakfast, and later watching part of the movie my niece had her little heart set on watching during her visit:  “Chitty-Chitty Bang-Bang!”  Ah, my niece is such a cutie.

Yes, I love surprises, especially when they are from the people I love so dearly.   Thank you girls for the surprise this weekend!  It was wonderful.

One Response to “WeEknD SurPrIsEs”

  1. Juliette October 15, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Loved being home!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

