“I believe in Love”

1 Oct

These words are the title of a book on the spirituality of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus, whose feast day we celebrate today.  In a special way today we pray that through the intercession of St. Theresa, who hears our prayers, that she will present these prayers before Our Lord and ask that our prayers be answered.

This book was recommended to me by a friend from college who entered the “Brothers of St. John.”  Naturally, since I thought this guy friend to be amazing, I speedily took his advice, and upon graduation, borrowed this book from one of my sisters.  There are many great pieces of encouragement, advice and insight into the virtue of love in this book, so without going into much detail, I will simply recommend that you read it someday.  The topic of “love” in itself, is so immense that one could talks for hours on this topic.  This book is simply wonderful.  You will love.it.

At Mass today, the Gospel read thus, “Whoever receives this child in my name receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.  For the one who is least among all of you is the one who is the greatest.” Luke 9:46-50.  How fitting that this reading passage for Mass today falls on the feast of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus, who offered everything up to God with childlike confidence and faith, and did little things with great love.  St. Theresa let others be preferred to herself and embodied Christ-like charity to all whom she encountered.  Oh, that we could be that holy and humble!

My prayer today for myself and you is that we do little things, but little things with great love.  “If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but do not have love, I have become a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.” 1 Corinthians 13:1.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

